We Publish Philosophy of Teaching

Philosophy of Teaching This has been a long year of growth and change for me in teaching. I have learned more about teaching and myself then I ever have. I’ve dove deeper into topics I had previously skimmed and started to discuss topics I was unaware of. This year we have learned about developmental stages, theories, influences, and teaching practices. Developmental Stages The most contradictory advice I have been given in my short time in this education program has been to not get set on a grade.

But then being constantly asked what I wanted to teach. As of now I am thinking of kindergarten to second. For this purpose, I will focus on second grade or age seven. The developmental stages of cognitive and psychosocial will be viewed through this lens. Cognitive – Piaget Jean Piaget was one of the most influential development psychologist. His theory was a psychology based in biology.

“Piaget’s theory of cognitive development proposes that a child’s intellect, or cognitive ability, progresses through four distinct stages” The four stages are sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational, and formal operational.

Each stage has its own set of abilities and way information is processed (Slavin, 2018). Sensorimotor is for ages birth to two years. Preoperational is for ages two to seven years. Concrete operational is seven to eleven years. Formal operational is ages eleven to adulthood. Second graders fall can fall in both preoperational and concreter operational. Preoperational stage is when children have the ability to think of things and they can use symbols to mentally represent objects.

Get quality help now
Doctor Jennifer

Proficient in: Erik Erikson

5 (893)

“ Thank you so much for accepting my assignment the night before it was due. I look forward to working with you moving forward ”

+84 relevant experts are online
Hire writer

During this stage a second grader would be able to grab logical concepts. An example is that two rows of 4 pennies each equal the same as 8 pennies in a row (Anthony, n.d.). This is also when mentally children can begin to see that there are other points of view and learns to start seeing them (Anthony, n.d.). In the concrete operational stage children begin to be able to justify their ideas logically and can’t think abstractly yet (Anthony, n.d.). When we did our child interview at the beginning of the year it was shown that a student could be in more than one category at one time depending on how far they are in their development. Psychosocial – Erikson Erik Erikson came up with the theory that everyone goes through eight psychosocial stages.

They include Stage 1: Trust vs. mistrust (birth to eighteen months), Stage 2: Autonomy vs Doubt (eighteen months to three years), Stage 3: Initiative vs Guilt (three to six years), Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority (six to twelve years), Stage 5: Identity vs Role Confusion (twelve to eighteen), Stage 6: Intimacy vs Isolation (Young adulthood), Stage 7: Generativity vs Self-Absorption (Middle Adulthood), and last Stage 8: Integrity vs Despair (Late Adulthood) (Slavin, 2018). A second grader falls under stage four. Stage fours is Industry versus Inferiority. During this stage teachers and peers become more important in a child’s life. Parents are now less influential. According to Erik Erikson the child would need to feel good in their abilities or they will have a negative self-image. Industry would be when they are meet the new demands on them set by school and their peers then feel confident in that.

Were as Inferiority would come from the sense of failure if they don’t meet those standards. As seven years they have been in school for a little while, but it is still a new situation. Erik Erikson believe that you would pass through the stage correctly or it would hinder the other stages and your life could be impacted negatively. If for example you were made to feel inferior and never moved to industry then you would progress to stage five. Development of Theories Throughout the semester many theorists have been discussed. The key theorist discussed were Kohlberg, Bronfenbrenner, Pavlov/Skinner and Vygotsky. These theorist theories will be outlined based on cognitive, behavioral, moral, and social-emotional learning. Then tied to how this can be used in my work with students. Kohlberg’s Theory of Moral Development Kohlberg’s theory of moral reasoning includes six stages and each into three levels. The levels were Preconventional, conventional and postconventional.

The levels come from how the child or adult distinguish the moral behavior. Kohlberg would give children and adults a moral dilemma and ask them what they would do. Kohlberg focused on the reason behind their answer more than the answer. There are two stages in level preconventional. They are stage 1 which is punishment and Obedience. Stage one is mostly a behavioral learning. Children know if they do something wrong they with get a negative consequence. I would use this when I work with my students by using motivators both extrinsic and building the intrinsic motivators. The second stage is Instrumental Relativist Orientation. This stage is satisfying the needs of yourself and sometimes other people’s needs. This is social-emotional. They are relying on their emotions to do what they want. But also uses social to help others. I would use this when working with students to help them consider other people’s feelings not just their own.

Cite this page

We Publish Philosophy of Teaching. (2022, Feb 15). Retrieved from https://paperap.com/we-publish-philosophy-of-teaching/

Let’s chat?  We're online 24/7