Rites of Buddhism

Buddhism has four rites of passage which include birth, becoming a monk, marriage, and death. Like most religions, they have a systematic approach to the rites of passage and are celebrated differently with each milestone. In the birth passage, there are three stages to the process which include baptism, naming ceremony, and dedication ceremony. During the Baptism the child is bathed in holy water by a monk to celebrate the birth of the baby and they are celebrated at nearby local temples by the monks.

The naming ceremony is where the monk gives the baby a name to help the child grow up and be prosperous and in good health. The final ceremony is the dedication ceremony is to ensure the child is made promises of commitment by the parents to ensure that the wellbeing of their child is met. This is the first stage of a long but fulfilling rite of passage to become a great follower of Buddha and the principles that the religion holds.

The next stage of the rite of passage is becoming a monk. In the first stage of the process, the individual must get their head shaved and kept shaven as long as they are a monk. “To become a monk, the teachings of Buddha must be followed and practiced. The significance of becoming a monk is to escape the cycle of rebirth and death. The teaching of Buddha teaches monks to live the ways of a happier world and fight against the world’s imperfections and sufferings.

Get quality help now
Prof. Finch

Proficient in: Rites Of Passage

4.7 (346)

“ This writer never make an mistake for me always deliver long before due date. Am telling you man this writer is absolutely the best. ”

+84 relevant experts are online
Hire writer

” (Rites of Buddhism 1). The teachings they must follow to remain pure in the Buddhism religion are to not harm living creatures, not steal from other people, no sexual misdoings or adultery, no false speech, and no alcohol or mind-altering drugs. They also follow the four noble truths which is a big part of the teachings they teach their followers. The First Noble Truth states that old age, illness, and death are all part of the suffering that we endure throughout our lives. The Second Noble Truth details “is that suffering is closely linked to desire, a desire for being which leads from birth to death and involves aging, illness, and mortality. There are also various desires for pleasures and for powers which, frustratingly, may not be realized.” (Buddha’s Teachings 1). The Third Noble Truth details that for you to rid yourself of all suffering you must give up all your desires in the world to be successful. The abandonment of all desires will lead you to the final Noble Truth and to the following the Noble Eightfold path which will lead you to enlightenment.

Marriage in the Buddhism religion can be celebrated differently throughout the regions or places that are celebrating the marriage. There are no set rules for marriage in the Buddhism religion it is not a requirement of the religion. The customs of marriage in Buddhism is that it is not pushed on the person in a spiritual matter but more of a personal matter and they can choose to get married if they so choose. In some instances, some monks in certain regions or countries cannot attend the weddings due to it may bring bad luck to the bride and groom. But, most of the monks can come to the ceremony and support the marriage. “In Marriage, a Sacred Thread Ritual is done where both the groom and bride attach a thread from their heads and when the speech passage completes, the thread is cut. After the thread was cut, the string is kept by many relatives for three days to ensure they will receive good luck.” (Rites of Buddhism 1). After they are married they are required both to uphold the teachings of Buddha and have their children follow suit. “The parties took a blessing from monks at the local temple after the civil registration formalities have been completed. Although Buddhist monks do not solemnize a marriage ceremony, they do perform religious services to bless the couples. From the Buddhist point of view, marriage is neither holy nor unholy. Buddhism does not regard marriage as a religious duty nor as a sacrament that is ordained in heaven.” (Buddhist Matrimony 1).

Cite this page

Rites of Buddhism. (2022, May 25). Retrieved from https://paperap.com/rites-of-buddhism/

Let’s chat?  We're online 24/7