Erik Erikson: Stages of Psychosocial Development

Erikson kept up the identity that creates in a predetermined request through eight phases of psychosocial advancement, from early stages to adulthood. During each stage, the individual encounters a psychosocial crisis which could have a constructive or negative result for identity advancement. For Erikson (1958, 1963), these emergencies are of a psychosocial nature since they include mental requirements of the individual; clashing with the necessities of society. Erikson have eight stages of Psychosocial Development, from explaining Trust vs. Mistrust to Ego Integrity vs.

Despair. These stages, in any case, can be settled effectively at a later time.

Erikson’s first psychosocial emergency happens amongst the main year or so of life (like Freud’s oral phase of psychosexual improvement). The emergency is one of trust versus mistrust. Since a newborn child is totally needy, creating trust depends on the dependability and nature of the kid’s parental figures. Now being developed, the child is absolutely reliant upon grown-up guardians for everything that the person in question needs to endure including nourishment, love, warmth, security, and supporting.

In the event that a guardian neglects to give sufficient consideration and love, the child will come to feel that the individual in question can’t trust or rely on the grown-ups in his or her life.

Erikson trusted that effective advancement was tied in with striking a balance between the two restricting sides. At the point when this occurs, children gain trust, which Erikson depicted as a receptiveness to encounter tempered by some attentiveness that threat might be available.

Get quality help now
Doctor Jennifer

Proficient in: Developmental Psychology

5 (893)

“ Thank you so much for accepting my assignment the night before it was due. I look forward to working with you moving forward ”

+84 relevant experts are online
Hire writer

At stage two of the Erikson stages (Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt), children ought to be shown the basic methods for taking care with themselves, including putting on something else and nourishing themselves. In the event that a child can’t deal with his own fundamental needs and keep on depending on others to deal with him or her, they may feel shameful when he/she sees that different children of their own age can perform errands for example, feeding themselves. Stage three, Initiative vs Guilt as kids keep on growing up, they like to investigate and get things done without anyone else. At stage three of the Erikson stages, kids can adapt to new ideas presented in school and are required to rehearse these exercises, all things considered.

They realize that they can achieve these errands all alone, however in the event that they neglect to do as such and end up requesting help from others, they may feel a feeling of blame. Industry vs Inferiority at Erikson’s psychosocial organize four, kids develop and their dimension of mindfulness increments. They comprehend legitimate thinking, logical actualities, and different issues that are regularly instructed in school. The fifth stage is Identity vs Role Confusion, and it happens during youth, from around 12-18 years. During this stage, teenagers look for a feeling of self and individual character, through an extraordinary exploration of personal values, belief, and goals. Intimacy vs Isolation is the sixth phase of Erik Erikson’s hypothesis of psychosocial development. This stage happens during youthful adulthood between the periods of around 18 to 40 yrs.

Cite this page

Erik Erikson: Stages of Psychosocial Development. (2022, Feb 09). Retrieved from

Let’s chat?  We're online 24/7